Removing Students From Courses | Admin-NEW EXPERIENCE

Table of Contents

Select Your User-type

Instructions differ for single sign-on users. Please follow the appropriate instructions for your user type. Clients that use Clever or ClassLink should follow the instructions in the Single Sign-On Users section below. Clients that do not use Clever or ClassLink should follow the instructions in the Non-Single Sign-On Users section.

Single Sign-On Users

Clients that use Clever or ClassLink for single sign-on must enter and edit all course, teacher, and student data directly through their preferred platform. Changes such as these should not be made directly in MI Write. Although it is possible to make such changes directly in MI Write, those changes will be lost after the next MI Write data sync which typically occurs once daily. At that time, data from Clever and ClassLink will sync MI Write according to the preset sharing rules that are established in the single sign-on platform. 

Non-Single Sign-On Users

Removing Students from Courses

As a District or School Administrator, you have the ability to remove students from courses. 

Why should you remove students from courses?

  • To clean a roster. If a student is no longer enrolled in your school, you may want to remove the student from courses so that the teacher no longer sees the student on the MI Write course roster. 
  • To reclaim seats. A student uses a seat if enrolled in one or more courses in MI Write. Removing a student from all courses allows that seat to be reclaimed and used by another student. 

When should you remove a student from courses?

  • The student transferred out of a course but is still enrolled in your school.
  • The student is no longer attending your school and will not return this school year.  

When should you NOT remove a student from a course?

  • The student is temporarily absent (illness, vacation, suspension) and will be returning to the course.
  • The teacher wants to continue to have access to the student’s essays written in MI Write.
  • The teacher or student wants to have the student's data remain in Progress and Performance reports.
  • The semester or school year has ended.

What if a student needs to be added back to a course? 

District and School Administrators do not have the ability to manually add students to courses directly in MI Write. However, there are ways that a student can be re-added to an MI Write Course: 

  • You can complete and upload a roster containing course and student data.
  • A teacher can manually add a student (with an existing MI Write account) to a course

How to Remove Students from Courses

1.    On the Users tab, search for the student that you would like to remove from a course.

  • You can filter the list of students by entering any part of the student’s name or username in the search field and/or selecting Student in the Role drop-down menu.

2.    Click on the pencil icon at the end of the student identifying information.

3.    On the Manage User page, scroll down to the Courses section. 

4.    To remove the student from one or more courses:  

  • Check the box for each course from which you would like to remove the student. Click Remove.
  • A popup will appear asking you to verify that you want to remove this user from the selected courses. 

5.    To remove the student from all courses, click Yes.